CILIPS Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Scotland
Navigation Close

Winner of Inaugural Scotland’s Library and Information Professional of the Year Award Announced

Category: News

Sally Walker of Orkney Library was today announced as the winner of the inaugural Scotland’s Library and Information Professional of the Year Award at the CILIPS Autumn Gathering in Glasgow. Scotland’s Librarian and Information Professional of the Year, sponsored by Bolinda Digital, is a cross sectoral award recognising outstanding achievement and accomplishment in post.

The award was judged on service development and innovation, commitment to the profession and sector engagement. The cross sectoral judging panel were impressed with Sally’s work across all the award criteria and in particular her work with children and schools.

The full shortlist of nominees was:

Victoria Candlish for her development work with reminiscence groups

Louise Graham for her advocacy work in promoting digital innovation and participation

Fiona Laing for dedicating a huge amount of her free time to the development and support of others throughout the profession

Liz Moffat for her work in promoting reader development

Jill Reid for her role in taking forward the Scottish Reading strategy for public libraries

Lesley Russell for her contribution to library management system development and delivery

Sally Walker for her engagement work with children and schools


Photo of President Liz McGettigan and winner Sally Walker courtesy of @OrkneyLibrary Twitter account
Skip to content