CILIPS Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Scotland
Navigation Close

Scotland’s Library and Information Professional of the Year

Nominations are now open for the annual recognition award being presented by CILIP in Scotland. Scotland’s Library and Information Professional of the Year, sponsored by Bolinda Digital, is our annual cross sectoral award honouring a CILIP member in Scotland for outstanding achievement and accomplishment in post.


Please provide a short statement (100-200 words) on how you believe the nominee has performed to the highest level leading to outstanding contribution over the past 12 months or so.

This can be in the areas of:

  1. Sector engagement (public, education, health etc) demonstrating a positive impact in terms of contribution to e.g. sector specific working groups, publications, training, project work etc.;
  2. Service development and innovation e.g. evidence of commitment, dedication, flair and innovation in service delivery;
  3. Commitment to profession: involvement in CILIPS Committee work, Council, Branches, Groups etc.

Achievements might include:

  • Responding to community / social change/ demand / need
  • Making the library and information service central to the mission and success of employing organisation;
  • Effective promotion of the library and information service;
  • Encouragement of reading and reader development;
  • Making a significant contribution to and impact on the sector


  • Must be current CILIPS members

Nomination Process:

Use this form to nominate a member by the 31st March:

Further details on the nominee may be requested. Judging will take place by a panel of experts.

Once a longlist has been created then a shortlist of three will be created and will be further assessed by a judging panel with the winner will be announced at the conference.  All of the shortlist will be invited to the conference.

Candidates must be nominated by another CILIPS member


Following a judging process, the successful candidate will be announced at the Conference and presented with the award.

In addition, the prize winner will be given £500 of funding provided by our sponsors that can be used for professional development opportunities in 2019 or 2020.

Information about our award sponsor: Bolinda Digital

Bolinda Digital is an industry leading audiobook publisher, supplying libraries with audiobook content for over 30 years.  Bolinda’s innovative lending platform BorrowBox, is the number one solution in the UK and offers a complete end-to-end service to libraries, with the best and most exclusive range of eAudiobooks and eBooks, since digital lending began. BorrowBox allows users to browse, download and borrow eContent in one easy to use app. It is the library that never closes.