CILIPS Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Scotland
Navigation Close

Local Studies Scotland (LocScot)

Local Studies Scotland (LocScot) is an organisation devoted to the care and dissemination of local and family history material in Scotland. Most of our members are librarians who work in the front line of local studies, but we also have academics, experts, and interested folk and organisations from the history and heritage sector.

We are the Scottish sub-group of the CILIP Local Studies Group.

More about us

  • LocScot runs and helps to organise various events throughout the year
  • LocScot represents local and family history interests in a wide variety of Scottish cultural and historical forums
  • LocScot sets guidelines for local studies provision in libraries
  • Join in discussion and keep up to date on the LocScot JISCmail list – lis-locscot@jiscmail.ac.uk  

How to join Locscot

CILIP members – to add as a new group, or switch groups, contact CILIP membership. Tel: 020 7255 0602, email: membership@cilip.org.uk

Blog

The LocScot blog can be found at https://locscot.wordpress.com/

Committee

Chair

Nicola Cowmeadow, Local History Officer, Culture Perth and Kinross, A.K. Bell Library, York Place, Perth PH2 8EP

Tel: 01738 477062, email: nmcowmeadow@pkc.gov.uk

Secretary

David Catto, Local Studies Librarian, Aberdeenshire Libraries, Meldrum Meg Way, The Meadows Industrial Estate, Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire AB51 0GN

Tel: 01651 871220, e-mail: david.catto@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Treasurer

Jennifer Giles, Curator (Scottish Communities & Organisations) – General Collections, National Library of Scotland, George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1EW

Tel: 0131 623 3910, email: j.giles@nls.uk

Communications

David Smith, Information & Local Studies Officer, East Dunbartonshire Leisure & Culture Trust, William Patrick Library, 2 – 4 West High Street, Kirkintilloch G66 1AD

Tel: 0141 777 3142, email: david.smith@eastdunbarton.gov.uk

Other Committee members

Ken Bogle, Local Studies Officer and Archivist, Local Studies Library, Midlothian Library HQ, 2 Clerk Street, Loanhead EH20 9DR

Tel : 0131 271 3976, e-mail: ken.bogle@midlothian.gov.uk

Alison Burgess, Local Studies Officer, Dumfries and Galloway Libraries, Information and Archives, Ewart Library, Catherine Street, Dumfries DG1 1JB

Tel: 01387 253820   [also 01387 269254 (Archives Centre)], email: alison.burgess@dumgal.gov.uk

Colin Duncan, Information Services Librarian, Inverclyde Libraries, Library HQ, Clyde Square, Greenock  PA15 1NA

Tel: 01475 712348, e-mail: colin.duncan@inverclyde.gov.uk

Trish Grant, Principal Librarian, Family History and Local History. The Mitchell Library, North St, Glasgow G3 7DN

Tel : 0141 287 2847, e-mail: Patricia.Grant@glasgow.gov.uk

Anne Morrison, Schools & Lifelong Learning Library Development Leader, Edinburgh Central Library, George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1EG

Tel: 0131 242 8070, email: anne.morrison@edinburgh.gov.uk

David Oswald, Local Studies Librarian, Library and Information Services, Aberdeen Central Library,  Rosemount Viaduct,  Aberdeen AB25 1GW

Tel: 01224 652534, e-mail: doswald@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Clare Padgett, Lifelong Learning Library Development Leader, Edinburgh Central Library, George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1EG

Tel: 0131 242 8033, email: clare.padgett@edinburgh.gov.uk

Local Studies Scotland (LocScot)